Skip to main content
search for


News center

Back to news main

Sky Lakes CEO joins Board of Trustees

Hospital news | Thursday, December 11, 2014

Contact: Thomas Hottman

The Oregon Senate on Wednesday (Dec. 10, 2014) officially confirmed three additional members of Oregon Tech's new governing board who were appointed by Governor Kitzhaber last month. Oregon Tech announced in September the initial trustees appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate as part of this historic change in higher education governance in Oregon.

With their official terms beginning immediately, the Trustees will assume governance of Oregon Tech on July 1, 2015 from the State Board of Higher Education, whose structure sunsets on June 30, 2015. University presidents, including Oregon Tech's Chris Maples, serve as ex-officio members of their respective Boards.

The three members who were confirmed today are:

  • Paul Stewart, President/CEO, Sky Lakes Medical Center, Klamath Falls, OR
  • Jessica Gomez, Founder, President and CEO, Rogue Valley Microdevices, Inc., Medford, OR
  • Fred Ziari, President, IRZ, ezWireless, and Zeco, Hermiston, ORGary Johnston, Owner of 7L Investments LLC from Boise, ID, is scheduled for a confirmation hearing at the earliest opportunity in 2015.

Trustees who were already appointed and confirmed earlier this Fall include:

  • Dr. Jeremy Brown, President, Portland Community College, Portland
  • Melissa Ceron, Student, Business Management/Accounting, Oregon Tech, Klamath Falls
  • Dr. Lisa Graham, CEO, Black Canyon Woodworks (currently serving a partial term on the State Board of Higher Education), Bend
  • Dana Henry, Student Support Services, Oregon Tech, Klamath Falls (Non-Faculty Staff member)
  • Kathleen Hill, Writer/Consultant and elected Member of the Klamath Tribal Council, Chiloquin
  • Kelley Minty Morris, Klamath County Commissioner, Klamath Falls (also confirmed Wednesday to a partial term on the State Board of Higher Education)
  • Celia Núñez, Agency Training Specialist, State Farm Insurance Company, Wilsonville
  • Dr. Dan W. Peterson, Associate Professor of Communication, Oregon Tech, Klamath Falls (Faculty member)
  • Dr. Steve Sliwa, Founder and CEO, Seeq, Portland and Seattle

Each of the public university boards in Oregon includes up to 15 trustees, with 11 members at large, the institution's president, one faculty member, one non-faculty staff member, and one student.

Click here for more information on Oregon Tech Board members.